Halfway Through 2013, How We Doin’ So Far?

10 Jun

Honestly guys, it seems like it’s been a slow year for good movies thus far. As we venture deeper into summer I know we can expect some more glimpses of greatness, but the first three months of 2013 were filled with astonishingly bad garbage. January was pretty much a complete loss except for Jack Reacher, but that technically came out in December so it doesn’t qualify in the 2013 pool.  I don’t claim to be an expert on the technical aspects of filmmaking so this list simply contains what I’ve determined to be the most entertaining movies so far this year.

Anyways, here’s my top five. 

 

1. Iron Man 3

2. Star Trek Into Darkness

3. Warm Bodies

4. Great Gatsby

5.  Gangster Squad

Special Mention: I still LOVED Beautiful Creatures but I realize this isn’t for everyone.

Side Note: I feel bad not listing Zero Dark Thirty here because it’s one of the few serious films of 2013 that garnered critical attention but it was a wee bit dull for my taste. I still recommend you check it out for yourself though. 

Well, now that we’ve got the bad news out of the way it should be clear sailing for the rest of the year. We’ve got some great movies due couple by the end of the summer and going into fall. Some of my most anticipated for this summer? 

1. Super Man: Man of Steel

Image

 

 

 

 

I’m confident with Nolan as a producer but director Zack Synder has a rather iffy resume. I was a big fan of Watchmen and liked 300 but Sucker Punch was so goddamn awful that I still want to vomit everywhere when I think about it. I’m nervously excited for this one. Not vomity nervous. 

2. World War Z

Image

I love Brad Pitt and I’m very fond of the zombie genre so this is a “YAY” just on those two factors. Yes Brad Pitt is a factor. He’s a force of nature. No more talking. No words. Shhhh. His…eyes. 

Image

3. The Lone Ranger

Image

I’m very excited for the Lone Ranger even though it’s disappointingly family orientated. Same writers and director as Pirates of the Caribbean and  of course it stars Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer. There’s something about Armie Hammer…I think he’s put some kind of spell on me. That name. So powerful. Image

4. Wolverine 

Image

Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. It’s an oldie but a goodie, amIright? As far as the trailer, I’m not sure about the futuristic look of this movie but I’m definitely open to it. It’s so important that the X-Men franchise keeps looking for new ways to stay fresh so I’m cautiously optimistic for this one.

5. Kick Ass 2 

Image

I was a BIG fan of the first one because I like superheroes and gratuitous violence. And swearing. And a badass female lead. I’m very interested in Jim Carrey’s role in this film and though I might not rush out to opening weekend it has piqued my interest.

I know. They’re almost all super hero movies. Don’t blame me though, I don’t finance these things.

To quickly round out the year I’m greatly looking forward to Catching Fire (The Hunger Games sequel) and Thor: The Dark World. Since November is my birthday month I always like to have something awesome to look forward to in theatres and this year I’m especially happy two great films are arriving the month before Christmas. However, it is hard to fill the hole left in my heart by the Twilight franchise. DON’T LAUGH. Seriously guys, I practically grew up with those movies and they hold significance for me. STOP LAUGHING.

Just to end things off I have begun to consider including some of the DVDs I watch on here as well. There are some great finds on both Canadian and American Netflix. I don’t want to overload you with information though so this idea is still in the germination stages. Also considering a throwbackthursday where I just write about older movies that make me feel the tinglies in my squishy bits. (Thanks to Lib for the support on that one.) 

Leave a Reply

