Is Laughing and Having a Good Time Your Thing? Then see The Heat!

5 Jul

Image

When I went to see The Heat, I didn’t have a lot of expectations. My brother wanted to see it, and I was interested to see what director Paul Feig could do with the material. I’m not a particularly big fan of buddy cop movies; but that’s not why I was there. I was there for the laughs. I wanted to drink them in with my greedy eyeballs time and time again. I wanted to slap my knee, and I hoped I would.

The Heat stars Sandra Bullock as a smug and straight laced FBI agent who is great at solving cases and also great at making everyone hate her. Melissa McCarthy is a Boston cop who has a foul mouth and a big heart. These two together are just gold. There are so many great gags in this movie, and I laughed a lot. I don’t want to spoil any jokes for you but most of the jokes are spot on. I always like to see a movie like this with a packed theatre because it’s nice to laugh with other people, for some reason.

There’s a lot of heart in this movie as well, and great character development. After the two stop hating each other, there are some great bonding moments. McCarthy is just amazing here; she really carries a lot of the jokes. I loved the moments with her big Boston family. I really could have used more of the scenes with Bullock trying to make polite conversation with these animals. Two of my favorite jokes feature a cat and a sandwich.

The only thing this movie missed out on was a gag reel at the credits. C’MON GUYS. That would have been perfect. I can see them setting this up for a sequel but I don’t think anything could rival this movie for a hilarious, summer blockbuster.

I think this movie is important on another level though, and that it’s to prove that audiences aren’t as dumb as Hollywood thinks. Men will go see a movie about women who may or may not have sex appeal, but first and foremost ARE FUNNY. I really love this movie as a comedy but I love it more for what it stands for; a sign that studios are beginning to acknowledge that movies can be made that tell women’s stories as independent and interesting, and not as sex objects that are defined by their relationships to men. Yay for feminism! 

Leave a Reply

