Gravity Surprises with Universal Appeal

16 Oct

Image

 

Gravity stars Sandra Bullock as Ryan Stone, an astronaut tasked with updating equipment on a spacecraft. George Clooney plays Matt Kawolski, an experienced astronaut leading the team on their mission.  If you’ve seen the trailer, you know the general story is that an explosion occurs which causes disastrous results for the astronauts. Upon seeing the trailer, I wasn’t particularly interested in watching this film. I’m not really big on space, or sci-fi themed things (or at least I keep telling myself I’m not but mounting evidence is beginning to disprove that assertion) however I decided to check it out based on the unbelievably high score the film has received on rottentomatoes.com. 

I do not regret my decision to go see this (expensive, what with the 3D) film. It is very suspenseful, hauntingly beautiful and ultimately tells a story of survival that everyone can relate to. How far would you have to dig to find the will to keep going to the face of extraordinarily bad circumstances? It takes a little while to get fully engaged in the story; to really care about Bullock’s character but this time is compensated for by the immediately stunning visuals. Of course you know if you are a regular reader, I hate 3D movies and if there was an option to see this in regular format, I would have taken it quickly. However, I will say this is one of the only 3D movies that really made full use out of the effect, and the intense beauty is not compromised by the stupid glasses. 

I’ve never been a huge Sandra Bullock fan but she really carries this movie with her incredibly dedicated performance, and I wouldn’t be surprised if she’s nominated for another Oscar. I actually ended up bawling my eyes out by the end of the film, but I may have just been having an emotional day. Go see it and tell me if you cried! This is certainly a top ten movie for this year and I am very excited to get to the good stuff that is scheduled for later this year, not limited to Thor and Catching Fire. 

We also saw Captain Phillips as well this week so I will have a review on that soon. I am also working my way through Benedict Cumberbatch’s filmography so I may post some reviews pertaining to that particular obsession if I can take a break from journeying through his amazing work long enough to write something about it. His new movie The Fifth Estate comes out this Friday and you can be dead sure my butt is going to be in that seat opening night. 

Leave a Reply

