Captain Phillips Is Emotionally Moving and Suspenseful Treat

18 Oct

Image

Captain Phillips stars Tom Hanks as….well Captain Richard Phillips. This movie is based off real events that occurred in 2009 off the coast of Somolia. I was vaguely aware of these events and I’m sure you are too. I think it is better to go in to the movie with as little knowledge as possible of what you’re going to see. Unless you’re going to watch Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, which I watched this week, and in that case you need to MAKE SURE YOU KNOW WHATS GOING ON. Or you’re gunna have a bad time. Anyways, I’m getting off topic. 

I found this movie to be very engaging immediately. We don’t know very much about Captain Phillips quickly, but you can tell he’s a good man. Maybe it has something to do with Tom Hanks face. Dude is so nice. So Phillips starts his day off normally, checking his emails and seeing there are some warnings for pirates in the area he’s sailing into. However nothing could prepare him for how the rest of the day goes. 

This is another very interesting movie about survival, however quite different from Gravity, which I talked about last time. Gravity is about facing the emotional toll of what it means to keep living, but Captain Phillips never has us doubting that Richard Phillips has something to live for. This story invites the viewer to be just as astonished and terrified as Phillips was in this real situation. I love how the reality of everything was handled. In a Tom Cruise movie, the hero would just grab a gun or use his crazy awesome punching skills to quickly disable the threat. This film is what happens to an ordinary man when he needs to find extraordinary courage. I highly recommend checking this out in theaters as soon as you get a chance! 

So, as I mentioned earlier I am working my way through Benedict Cumberbatch’s filmography so this week I saw Third Star and Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, both of which are beautiful, truly excellent films and I can’t recommend them highly enough. I also saw Wreckers, which you can find on American Netflix, or just stream from the internet. It’s also very good; its about two dysfunctional brothers and the secrets they keep that tears a marriage apart. I’m going to see Fifth Estate tonight and I’m very excited about it so expect a review soon. 

Leave a Reply

